Back to Home

A Center Stage Moment: Astrid V. Tallaksen

Tallaksen spotlight

Mason Cooley said, “Reading gives us some place to go when we have to stay where we are.”

A Center Stage Moment shines a spotlight on writers who give us great places to visit with the characters we love and want to call friends.

Today, I have the pleasure of introducing to you Astrid V. Tallaksen

 

11036304_1577326279223167_87221215021161486_nAstrid V. Tallaksen grew up with a heart for stories of creatures and places outside of this world. Her love of reading quickly became a love of writing. She spent several years creating content and helping writers to improve their craft on the online world of Althanas, a creative writing workshop in the guise of a role playing forum. A self-avowed nerd, Astrid loves science fiction, comic books, and eighties fantasy movies in the vein of The Princess Bride and Labyrinth. Her geekiness extends to annual volunteer work at the massive sci-fi convention known as Dragon*con every year in Atlanta, Georgia. In the odd times that she’s not immersed in geekdom or writing, Astrid loves to sing karaoke, crochet, and spend time with her family and pets. 

Have you always wanted to be a writer? I don’t know if there was a want to it really, I think I just kind of always WAS a writer. I started writing in kindergarten so it’s always been a part of who I am.

Why did you choose to write your genre? Is it corny to say this genre chose me? When I started writing the Freefall Trilogy I had no idea what genre it would end up being, I just let it take me where it wanted to go and it turned out to be paranormal romance/urban fantasy. I do really enjoy the paranormal and fantasy so it makes sense that it would lead me there.

WorldInFire_wrap

What is the strangest story you’ve ever written? Hiding out in a bunker in London called Clapham Hill. It was fun to research WWII bomb shelters.

What are you currently working on? I have three current projects. My main project is a fantasy novel about a young orphan girl who is raised to be a master assassin. One of my side projects is a paranormal romance about predestined soulmates and their campaign to win back the hero’s birthright. The other side project is a collaboration with fellow author Bridget Blackwood about a selkie and a witch who have to try to navigate the world of dark magic to find the selkie’s stolen pelt.

What motivated the plot of your latest book? I think for me the characters themselves motivate the plot. I am a pantser so I don’t really plan out what my books will be about. I’m sure I was inspired by the many other stories I’ve read over the years.

BetweenHeavenandHellEbook

What was the hardest story for you to write? My fantasy is being a real tough bugger, and is the reason I’ve got side-projects going. I needed to step away and figure out where it needs to go so I can keep working on it.

What process do you use to plan your novels? I don’t! I write and figure it out as I go. I know it’s kind of verboten, but it’s just the way my brain works.

Who has been your favorite character to write and why? I absolutely loved writing Lucifer from the Freefall Trilogy. He was so complex and his motivations were rarely easy to puzzle out.

Have you ever experienced writer’s block? If so, how did you overcome it?  Oh gosh, all the time! I usually listen to music, often movie soundtracks, or I’ll switch to a different project to get my mind off the blocked project.

Do any of your characters reflect facets of your personality? I think Sara from the Freefall Trilogy is the closest. We’re both masters of snark and we love our sons.

AtDeathsDoorEbook

If you were to choose another genre to write in, what would it be? I think historical fiction could be really fun and I hope to tackle it someday.

Which authors inspire you? Madeleine L’Engle and Diana Gabaldon most of all.

What novel would you read multiple times? A Ring of Endless Light by Madeleine L’Engle is a longtime favorite I’ve read probably a hundred times since I was a teenager.

If you could meet anyone in the world, alive or deceased, who would it be and why? (Person could be a fictional character)  Madeleine L’Engle for sure. Can you see a pattern here?

What is your favorite quote? 

Love quote

What is your favorite animal, real or imaginary? I adore cheetahs for some reason.

What is your favorite color? It’s a tossup between turquoise and periwinkle.

When you’re not writing… I write full time. I’m very lucky to have a husband who makes sure I can do this as my living instead of something outside of the house which wouldn’t be nearly as rewarding.

Catch up with Astrid online at:

Website: https://authorastridvtallaksen.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorastridvtallaksen

Twitter: https://twitter.com/astrid_writes?lang=en

It was great getting to know you Astrid!

Join me next week when Becca Vincenza will be dropping by.

Recent Comments

Leave a Reply