Back to Home

Alien Teen Avengers: A Review of M.H. Soars’ “The Phoenix Shadow” Description: “When the walls of lies begin closing in, who do you trust?

There is nothing worse than failure, especially one that results in your school being attacked by a ruthless enemy. Still reeling from the aftermath of the previous night, Sam and her cousins must deal with another crisis: Alexia has run away.

To top it off, there are new players in town. The young Arcadians will be forced to work closely with the prestigious Nox Elite. But they will soon find out that nursing a bruised ego is nothing compared to fighting a faceless enemy, battling personal demons, and dealing with revelations that will forever change their lives.”

*Note from the author: Due to strong language and mature content this book is recommended to readers 17+. This is a Paranormal Romance novel

About the Author

 I always knew creative arts were my calling but not in a million years did I think I would become an author. With a background in fashion design I thought I would follow that path. But one day, out of the blue, I had an idea for a book. One page turned into ten pages, ten pages turned into a hundred, and before I knew, my first novel, The Prophecy of Arcadia, was born.

I live in Florida with my husband and baby daughter. I’m currently working on the Arcadian Wars series, the Elements series, and the Love Me, I’m Famous series.

Arcadian Wars is a YA Paranormal/SciFi Romance series. It follows the life of a group of teens who possess incredible powers and have a very important mission: save their planet and in the process, save Earth too. The first book, The Prophecy of Arcadia, and the novella, The Fall of Arcadia, are already available. The second book, The Phoenix Shadow, will be published in the summer of 2015.

Elements is a new YA Paranormal Romance series. It focuses on two sisters who hold the key to stop a full-blown war between elemental beings and humans. Look for the first book by the end of 2015.

Love Me, I’m Famous is a NA Contemporary Romance series and each book will be a standalone focused on different characters. As the name of the series suggests, at least one of the characters in each book will be somewhat famous. The first book is slated to be published later in 2015.

To learn more my projects you can visit my website, sign up for my newsletter, or follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

My Review

I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Book Two in the Arcadian Wars, The Phoenix Shadow by M.H. Soars, was a delight!

This installment in the lives of a group of teens from a far away planet and their Earth charge was much better than the first one. The Prophecy of Arcadia had an interesting plot that kept me intrigued. But, The Phoenix Shadow took the story line and added more drama, more action and more plot twists. I got so caught up in the story that I didn’t want to put the book down.

I’m not a big fan of alien tales which have disfigured creatures or fantastical beings with odd characteristics. You won’t find any of that in M.H. Soars’ books. Her stories are well-crafted stories that explore ‘what if’. Scientists are constantly searching for life on other planets. And, thanks to Hollywood, our concept of aliens runs to the fantastical. Soars kept it realistic by creating human type characters who live on a planet not like Earth, but dependent upon our resources. And, just like Earth, the inhabitants of this foreign planet have major issues with race and government.

I loved the characters in The Phoenix Shadow especially Samantha and Matt with their on-again off-again relationship. Fortunately, Soars delivers more than a YA story with the stereotypical love triangle. This romance has a group of teens struggling with love while fighting to save their planet and Earth. It makes for some serious laugh out loud moments. Think of a house of superheroes (Batman, Superman, Thor) with their female counterparts (Wonder Woman, Black Widow, Elektra) all in love with each other. Funny moments!

My favorite character was Durgin. In the first book, he was mysterious and not very nice. In The Phoenix Shadow we get his story and he transforms into a likable character who has a heart and only wants to do the right thing. Joining him in the battle of human rights (or should it be Arcadian rights?) is Lucas. I loved his story and would love to read more about the boy who wasn’t supposed to exist.

I really liked the story idea. Yes, there’s a protagonist who discovers she has powers. And, yes, there is a quest. But, Soars delivered a few twists. Everyone is powerful and learning the extent of those powers. And, the quest? It’s called a bond and involves soul mates. What makes this story work is the family angle. The protagonist, Alexia, learns to embrace her family regardless of how that family came to exist. The theme runs throughout The Phoenix Shadow and makes the story a worthwhile read.

I highly recommend picking up a copy. If you haven’t read The Prophecy of Arcadia, be sure to read it first. 

Rating: 5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up

(5 Hands=Excellent; 4 Hands=Pretty Good; 3 Hands=Good)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.